ABOUT US

zwissTEX. creating our textile future

Our story began with hammocks.

We even experimented
with lingerie.

Today, we create internationally sought-after high-tech textiles.

For this we have also accepted and overcome crises.

And continue to uphold
the unique tradition of Swabian textiles.

We cannot imagine
a future without textiles.

Our vision

We believe that the future of our planet
is shaped by the attitude of man.
We do everything to advance this attitude with textile function.

Our history

1828 - 1906

1828 Foundation of Zoeppritz AG in Mergelstetten. Manufacture of textiles from natural fibers (mainly wool), including those for use in blankets. 1872  The Jacquard-Weberei Gebr. Schmid is founded independently by Johann Georg Schmid, who mainly produces hammocks for marine applications. 1906  Company is renamed Mechanische Weberei Gerstetten, Matthäus Schmid oHG, with 120 looms and its own steam system. Main products are now: shoe lining, bed linen, trimming fabrics for lingerie.

1965 - 1998

1965 Transfer of the company to Dr. Ulrich Zwissler, son of Julius Zwissler who had already been a co-owner. Founding of Gertex Wirkerei.1976 DDr. Ulrich Zwissler buys the shoe textiles division of Zoeppritz AG which later becomes Zoeppritex Verbundstoffe GmbH and produces laminations and coatings. 1978 Expansion and acquisition of buildings and technical facilities; takeover of Weicht in Wörnitz, (near Rothenburg), later acquisition of Riema Wirkerei in Ehingen. 1990 Move to the current production site at Heldenfingen. Introduction of other laminating processes such as bonding with thermoplastic adhesives.1998 ransfer of shoe textile production to the company Zoeppritex Italiana (now: Free Time Zoeppritex S.R.L.). Free Time Zoeppritex S.R.L.). Zoeppritex Verbundstoffe GmbH & Co. KG is established.

2005 - 2021

2005 Foundation of Ningbo Roekona Zoeppritex TexLine Co., Ltd. as a joint venture in Ningbo, south of Shanghai in China, for the production of textile interiors for the automotive industry. 2016 Foundation of the joint production facility zwissTEX Mexico of Gertex Textil GmbH and Zoeppritex Verbundstoffe GmbH in Tlaxcala/Mexico. 2017 Establishment of zwissTEX USA as a sales company in Troy, through which Gertex and Zoeppritex products are to be sold on the American market in the future. At the same time, the sales company zwissTEX China is founded in Hong Kong. In addition, Dr. Ulrich Zwissler hands over the management of the company to Marc W. Lorch. Dr. Zwissler remains a member of the board of Dr. Zwissler Holding AG. 2018 Founding of the sales company zwissTEX France in Valencienne to be more present on the French market. 2019 Gertex and Zoeppritex are merged into one company and zwissTEX Germany GmbH is founded. 2020 The new administration and production building at the Gerstetten-Heldenfingen site is occupied. Company founder and former CEO Dr. Ulrich Zwissler passes away at the age of 81. Dr. Ulrike Neubauer becomes CFO and Chairwoman of the Board of Management. 

Our headquarters

With 3,000 square meters of administrative space and 8,000 square meters of production space, our new headquarters in Gerstetten-Heldenfingen offers plenty of room for innovation - including in the new Zwissler InnovationLab, our forum for external and internal events on our path to our joint textile future.
The façade of the two-story, approximately nine-meter-high building is made of a glass fabric with polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) and provides textile shading.

Executive Board

Dr. Ulrike Neubauer

Dr. Ulrike Neubauer

CFO der Dr. Zwissler Holding AG

Günter Eizenhöfer

Günter Eizenhöfer

CSO der Dr. Zwissler Holding AG

über uns

zwissTEX. creating our textile future

Unsere Geschichte begann mit Hängematten.

Wir haben sogar experimentiert mit Wäsche.

Heute erschaffen wir international gefragte High-Tech-Textilien.

Dafür haben wir auch Krisen angenommen und überwunden.

Und halten weiterhin die Tradition Schwäbischer Textilien aufrecht.

Eine Zukunft ohne Textilien können wir uns nicht vorstellen.

Unsere Vision

Wir glauben, dass die Zukunft unserer Welt von der Haltung des Menschen geformt wird. Wir tun alles, um diese Haltung mit textiler Funktion voranzutreiben.

Unsere Geschichte

1828 bis 1906

1828 Gründung der Zoeppritz AG in Mergelstetten. Herstellung von Textilien aus Naturfasern (vor allem Wolle), unter anderem zur Fertigung von Schlafdecken.  1872  Unabhängig davon wird die Jacquard-Weberei Gebr. Schmid durch Johann Georg Schmid gegründet, die hauptsächlich Hängematten für die Schifffahrt produziert. 1906  Umwandlung in Mechanische Weberei Gerstetten, Matthäus Schmid oHG mit 120 Webstühlen und eigener Dampfanlage. Hauptprodukte sind nun: Schuhfutterstoffe, Bettwäsche und Besatzstoffe für Wäsche

1965 bis 1998

1965 Übergabe des Unternehmens an Dr. Ulrich Zwissler, dessen Vater Julius Zwissler bereits Teilhaber gewesen war. Gründung der Gertex Wirkerei. 1976 Dr. Zwissler kauft die Schuhstoffabteilung der Zoeppritz AG, die später als Zoeppritex Verbundstoffe GmbH Laminierungen, Kaschierungen und Beschichtungen herstellt. 1978 Erweiterungen und Zukäufe von Gebäuden und technischen Anlagen; Übernahme der Firma Weicht in Wörnitz (bei Rothenburg) und später Kauf der Firma Riema Wirkerei in Ehingen. 1990 Umzug von Zoeppritex an den Produktionsstandort in Heldenfingen. Einsatz von weiteren Laminierverfahren wie etwa Klebeverfahren mit thermoplastischen Klebstoffen. 1998 Verlegung des Produktionszweigs Schuhstoffe zur Firma Zoeppritex Italiana (heute: Free Time Zoeppritex S.R.L.). Die Zoeppritex Verbundstoffe GmbH & Co. KG wird ins Leben gerufen.

2005 bis 2021

2005 Gründung der Ningbo Roekona Zoeppritex TexLine Co., Ltd. als Joint Venture in Ningbo, südlich von Shanghai in China, zur Produktion von textilem Interieur für die Automobilindustrie. 2016 Gründung der gemeinsamen Produktionsstätte zwissTEX Mexico der Gertex Textil GmbH und der Zoeppritex Verbundstoffe GmbH in Tlaxcala/Mexiko. 2017 Gründung der zwissTEX USA als Vertriebsgesellschaft in Troy, über welche auf dem amerikanischen Markt zukünftig die Produkte von Gertex und Zoeppritex vertrieben werden sollen. Parallel Gründung der Vertriebsgesellschaft zwissTEX China in Hongkong. Zudem übergibt Dr. Ulrich Zwissler die Geschäftsführung an Marc W. Lorch. Dr. Zwissler bleibt Vorstandsmitglied der Dr. Zwissler Holding AG. 2018 Gründung der Vertriebsgesellschaft zwissTEX France in Valencienne, um auf dem französischen Markt präsenter zu sein. 2019 Gertex und Zoeppritex werden zu einem Unternehmen verschmolzen und gründen die zwissTEX Germany GmbH. 2020 Das neue Verwaltungs- und Produktionsgebäude am Standort Gerstetten-Heldenfingen wird bezogen. Unternehmensgründer und ehemaliger Geschäftsführer Dr. Ulrich Zwissler verstirbt im Alter von 81 Jahren. Dr. Ulrike Neubauer wird CFO und Vorsitzende des Vorstands. 

Unser Headquarters

Unser neues Headquarters in Gerstetten-Heldenfingen bietet mit 3.000 Quadratmetern Verwaltungs- und 8.000 Quadratmetern Produktionsfläche viel Platz für Innovationen – so auch in dem neuen Zwissler InnovationLab, unserem Forum für externe und interne Events auf unserem gemeinsamen Weg in unsere textile Zukunft.
Die Fassade des zweistöckigen, rund neun Meter hohen Gebäudes besteht aus einem Glasgewebe mit Polytetrafluorethylen (PTFE) und bietet textile Verschattung.

Geschäftsleitung

Dr. Ulrike Neubauer

Dr. Ulrike Neubauer

CFO der Dr. Zwissler Holding AG

Günter Eizenhöfer

Günter Eizenhöfer

CSO der Dr. Zwissler Holding AG